What is it exactly that Lightning/Fabric DataLoaders do?

Hello lightning forums :] New to the forums, been using Fabric for a month or two now. Just wanna say that, overall, you guys have done a pretty great job making GPU parallelism easily accessible. I seriously cannot thank the devs here enough for the work they’ve put into this - these kinds of projects make advanced tasks like multi-GPU nn training so much more accessible for people who are not programmers by trade. +1 for removal of barriers to entry, so thanks again, guys. Anyway, on to the problem I’m having…

I have recently moved from training this model I’m working on in a single GPU setting to a multi GPU setting. To date I have been using a custom class for loading data during nn training - will refer to this class as DM, and to Pytorch’s/Lightning’s/Fabric’s standard DataLoaders as DL. I do this because I see about a 450-550% speedup in all data loading/formatting ops when using DM as opposed to DL ( this is the case with stock-standard PyTorch too - it’s not a Lightning/Fabric problem ), which obviously radically reduces my training time. In the single-GPU setting, this has 0 impact on the performance of the trained model or any loss statistics etc - in other words, it does nothing but cut down my training time by a factor of about 3.5-4.5x for no cost to model performance.

But since switching to a distributed setting, this is no longer the case. I have modified my DM class to ( perhaps naively ) handle the distributed case, with each process started by Fabric ( using DDP strategy ) having its own DMₙ on GPU rank n. DMₙ will yield batches of data as tensors on device torch.device(f"cuda:{n}") for the forward pass executed by the DDP process with rank n. Very simple…or so I thought.

After training in the distributed setting like this for a while, I tested the model’s performance and it’s not just simply not learning, but is actually actively getting worse the more it’s trained.