Multi-GPU/Multi-Node training with WebDataset

This is my first time using WebDataset and I have multiple shards (about 60) with a large number of images. It was working as I would expect in the normal Dataset class when I was using a single GPU. However once I set the devices flag in Trainer to 2 I received the error ValueError: you need to add an explicit nodesplitter to your input pipeline for multi-node training Webdataset.

I saw two approach to allow using multiple gpus with WebDataset.

1. Using .with_epochs
    According to WebDataset Github I could simply use the with_epochs function in my dataset as follows:
dataset = wds.WebDataset(url, resampled=True).shuffle(1000).decode("rgb").to_tuple("png", "json").map(preprocess).with_epoch(10000)
dataloader = wds.WebLoader(dataset, batch_size=batch_size)
  1. Using ddp_equalize
    According to WebDataset MultiNode
dataset_size, batch_size = 1282000, 64
dataset = wds.WebDataset(urls).decode("pil").shuffle(5000).batched(batch_size, partial=False)
loader = wds.WebLoader(dataset, num_workers=4)
loader = loader.ddp_equalize(dataset_size // batch_size)

Could someone please help me understand what is happening in these two pieces of code. In the second case is the dataset_size just a nominal size? Which if any is better. I would also appreciate if someone has an example of what is the best way to use Webdataset with pytorch lightning in multi-gpu and multi-node scenario.

Hey @adhakal224 ,

According to WebDataset MultiNode the 2.) snippet you posted would be required but not sufficient on it’s own.

How DDP works is that it basically splits your dataset into N random subsets (with N being the number of processes/GPUs to train on simultaneously).

This is required as ideally each of these training processes would retrieve a different part of the data to increase the effective batchsize during training (using N times the very same batch does not make sense).
This is ensured by the first part of the WebDataset MultiNode: