Checkpointing saves wrong model weights - No matter if Lightning or bare Torch

TLDR below!!

Greetings Lightning Community,

Background:
I am a researcher working on Generative Adversarial Networks for Neuronal Data (EEG data).
I first developed a GAN using bare torch, then I decided to use Lightning 3-4 Months ago and I’m super happy so far. However since 3 weeks I’m hitting a wall because I’m not able to save the models correctly.

Question:
I got a GAN model consisting of 2 networks: generator and critic. I’m using the Lightning framework with the weights an biases logger and the ModelCheckpoint to train, log and checkpoint. However, when I’m checkpointing my models the forward-pass through the generator of the checkpointed model just leads to dramatically different results compared to what I see at the end of training. Therefor I started debugging and wanted to know whats going on: turns out, the weights that I’m saving for the model are so different from what the weights are there during taring. Below I show forward pass results during training and after loading the last checkpoint:

Results during Training:
Screenshot from 2023-09-01 11-48-31

Results when loading Checkpoint
… I can only embed one picture, gonna show the others below…

ignore the epoch number. I just put 500 there becuase it needed a number, however the upper picture shows the spectrum of the last epoch during training the lower shows the loaded checkpoint.

After days of debugging I tried to save checkpoints just by using the torch.save(module.state_dict()) inside my custom logger Callback however, same results. When comparing of some randomly chosen kernels I see the following:

Picture of weights:… (also below)

The torch label shows the weights when using torch to save, w and b are the weights logged by the ModelChekpoint and csv is what I get if I just dump all weigts in a CSV at the end of training (probably the weights I want)… The .csv is saved using: